Pharaoh Sanders: Black Unity

On December 8, 1971, “Impulse!” label released “Black Unity”, the seventh Pharaoh Sanders album. It was recorded in November 1971, and was produced by Lee Young.


  • Pharoah Sanders — soprano and tenor saxophone, balafon
  • Marvin “Hannibal” Peterson — trumpet
  • Carlos Garnett — flute, tenor saxophone
  • Joe Bonner — piano
  • Stanley Clarke, Cecil McBee — bass
  • Norman Connors, Billy Hart — drums
  • Lawrence Killian — conga, balafon, talking drum, percussion
  • Tony May — engineer
  • Erick Labson — remastering
  • Hollis King — art direction
  • Christine Lee — graphic design
  • Chuck Stewart — photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Pharaoh Sanders.

  1. Black Unity (part one)
  2. Black Unity (part two)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.