Joe Henderson: In the Pursuit of Blackness

In November 1971, “Milestone” label released “In Pursuit of Blackness”, the 13th Joe Henderson album. It was recorded in September 1970 at “Lighthouse Café” in Hermosa Beach, May 1971, at “Decca Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
  • Woody Shaw – trumpet
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Pete Yellin – alto saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
  • George Cables – electric piano
  • Ron McClure, Stanley Clarke – bass
  • Lenny White – drums
  • Tony Waters – congas

Track listing:

 All tracks by Joe Henderson, except where noted.

  1. No Me Esqueca
  2. Invitation – Bronisław Kaper
  3. A Shade of Jade
  4. Gazelle
  5. Mind Over Matter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.