Electric Light Orchestra: On the Third Day

In November 1973, “United Artists” label released “On the Third Day”, the third Electric Light Orchestra studio album. It was recorded April – August 1973, at “De Lane Lea Studios” and “AIR Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Lynne.


  • Jeff Lynne – vocals, guitars
  • Richard Tandy – piano, Moog, clavinet, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Mike Edwards – cello
  • Mik Kaminski – violin 
  • Mike de Albuquerque – bass, backing vocals
  • Bev Bevan – drums, percussion
  • Wilf Gibson – violin
  • Colin Walker – cello
  • Marc Bolan – joint lead guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lynne, except where noted.

  1. Ocean Breakup / King of the Universe
  2. Bluebird is Dead
  3. Oh No Not Susan
  4. New World Rising / Ocean Breakup (reprise)
  5. Showdown
  6. Daybraker
  7. Ma-Ma-Ma Belle
  8. Dreaming of 4000
  9. In the Hall of the Mountain King – Edvard Grieg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.