Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark: Universal

On September 2, 1996, “Virgin” label released “Universal”, the tenth Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark studio album. It was recorded 1995 -1996, at “The Townhouse” and “Metropolis” in London, and was produced by Andy McCluskey, Matthew Vaughan and David Nicholas.


  • Andy McCluskey – vocals, keyboards, production, mixing
  • Matthew Vaughan – keyboards, guitar, piano, bass
  • Phil Spalding – bass, backing vocals
  • Chuck Sabo – drums, percussion
  • Jimmy Taylor – guitar
  • Anne Dudley – string arrangements
  • Richard Allen Singers – vocals
  • Breda Dunne – backing vocals
  • Hannah Clive – backing vocals
  • Carol Kenyon – backing vocals
  • Maggie Keane – backing vocals
  • David Nicholas – engineer, mixing
  • Gregg Jackman – mixing
  • Julie Gardner – engineer, assistant engineer
  • Neil Tucker – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy McCluskey, except where noted.

  1. Universal
  2. Walking on the Milky Way – Andy McCluskey, Nigel Ipinson, Keith Small
  3. The Moon & the Sun – Andy McCluskey, Karl Bartos
  4. The Black Sea – Andy McCluskey, Stuart Kershaw
  5. Very Close to Far Away – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey
  6. The Gospel of St. Jude
  7. That Was Then
  8. Too Late – Andy McCluskey, Stuart Kershaw
  9. The Boy from the Chemist Is Here to See You
  10. If You’re Still in Love with Me – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey, Stuart Kershaw
  11. New Head – Andy McCluskey, Simon Fung

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.