Nick Lowe: The Rose of England

In August 1985, “Columbia” label released “The Rose of England”, the sixth Nick Lowe album. It was recorded 1984 – 1985, at “Eden Studios” in Acton, “Boathouse Studios” in Twickenham, London, and was produced by Nick Lowe, Colin Fairley and Huey Lewis.


  • Nick Lowe – vocals, bass, guitar
  • Johnny Colla – guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
  • Chris Hayes – guitar, backing vocals
  • Martin Belmont – guitar
  • Chris “Boothill” Thompson – banjo
  • Paul Carrack – organ, bass, piano, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Huey Lewis – harmonica, backing vocals
  • Mario Cipollina – bass
  • Andrew Bodnar – bass
  • Bobby Irwin – drums, backing vocals
  • Bill Gibson – drums, backing vocals
  • Nick Pentelow – tenor saxophone

Track klisting:

All tracks by Nick Lowe except where noted.

  1. Darlin’ Angel Eyes
  2. She Don’t Love Nobody – John Hiatt
  3. 7 Nights to Rock – Henry Glover, Louis Innis, Buck Trail
  4. Long Walk Back – Nick Lowe, Martin Belmont, Paul Carrack, Bobby Irwin
  5. The Rose of England
  6. Lucky Dog
  7. I Knew the Bride (When She Used to Rock & Roll)
  8. Indoor Fireworks – Elvis Costello
  9. (Hope to God) I’m Right
  10. I Can Be the One You Love
  11. Everyone – Gary Rue
  12. Bo Bo Skediddle – Webb Pierce, Wayne Walker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.