Jackie McLean: Makin’ the Changes

In August 1960, “New Jazz” label released “Makin’ the Changes”, the sixteen Jackie Mclean album. It was recorded February – August 1957, at “van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Jackie McLean – alto sax
  • Mal Waldron – piano
  • Gil Coggins – piano
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Webster Young – trumpet
  • Arthur Phipps – bass
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums
  • Art Taylor – drums

Track listing:

  1. Bean and the Boys – Coleman Hawkins 
  2. What’s New? – Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke
  3. I Never Knew – Gus Kahn, Ted Fiorito
  4. I Hear a Rhapsody – Dick Gasparre, George Fragos, Jack Baker
  5. Jackie’s Ghost – Ray Draper
  6. Chasin’ the Bird – Charlie Parker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.