Lee Morgan: Search for the New Land

In July 1966, “Blue Note” label released “Search for the New Land”, the fifteenth Lee Morgan album. It was recorded in February 1964, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter – tenor sax
  • Herbie Hancock – piano
  • Grant Green – guitar
  • Reggie Workman – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer, remastering
  • Bob Blumenthal – liner notes
  • Micaela Boland – art direction, graphic design
  • Francis Wolff – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Lee Morgan

  1. Search for the New Land
  2. The Joker
  3. Mr. Kenyatta
  4. Melancholee
  5. Morgan the Pirate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.