Andrew Hill: Lift Every Voice

In June 1970, “Blue Note” label released “Lift Every Voice”, the twelve Andrew Hill album. It was recorded May 1969 – March 1970, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Francis Volff.


  • Andrew Hill – piano
  • Woody Shaw – trumpet
  • Carlos Garnett – tenor saxophone
  • Richard Davis – bass
  • Freddie Waits – drums
  • Joan Johnson, LaReine LaMar, Gail Nelson, Antenett Goodman Ray – vocals
  • Lawrence Marshall – vocals, conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew Hill.

  1. Hey Hey
  2. Lift Every Voice
  3. Two Lullabies
  4. Love Chant
  5. Ghetto Lights

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.