Sturgill Simpson: A Sailor’s Guide to Earth

On April 15, 2016, “Atlantic” label released “A Sailor’s Guide to Earth” the third Sturgill Simpson studio album. It was recorded in 2015 at “The Butcher Shoppe” in Nashville, and was produced by Sturgill Simpson. At the 59th “Grammy Awards” it won award for “Best Country Album”.


  • Sturgill Simpson – lead and backing vocals, 12-string and acoustic guitar, Moog synthesizer, synthesizer
  • Robert Emmett – keyboards, Moog synthesizer, organ, synthesizer, Wurlitzer, background vocals
  • Jefferson Crow – piano, Wurlitzer
  • Laur Joamets – electric and slide guitar
  • Dan Dugmore – pedal steel guitar
  • Dave Roe – bass guitar
  • Miles Miller – drums, background vocals
  • Jonathan Dinklage – violin
  • Whitney LaGrange – violin
  • Arthur Cook – cello
  • Garo Yellin – cello
  • Clark Gayton – trombone
  • David Guy – flugelhorn, trumpet
  • Ian Hendrickson-Smith – alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Neal Sugarman – tenor saxophone
  • Dougie Wilkinson – bagpipes
  • David Ferguson – engineer, mixing
  • Ebonie Smith – engineer assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by Sturgill Simpson except where noted.

  1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
  2. Breakers Roar
  3. Keep It Between the Lines
  4. Sea Stories
  5. In Bloom – Kurt Cobain
  6. Brace for Impact (Live a Little)
  7. All Around You
  8. Oh Sarah
  9. Call to Arms

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.