On February 20, 2007.

On February 20, 2007, “Jagjaguwar” label released “The Besnard Lakes Are the Dark Horse”, the second Besnard Lakes studio. It was recorded in 2006, at “The Breakglass Studios” in Montreal, Canada, and was produced by Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas.


  • Olga Goreas – vocals, bass, organ, synthesizer, glockenspiel, drums
  • Jace Lasek – vocals, guitar, organ, piano, Rhodes, synthesizer, lap steel guitar, tambourine, drums
  • Kevin Laing – drums
  • Nicole Lizée – string, horn, flute, saxophone arrangements, bass, synthesizer
  • The Fifth String Liberation Singers Choir – vocals
  • Steve Raegele – vocals, guitar
  • Jonathan Cummins – guitar
  • Jerimiah Bullied – guitar
  • Eric LaRock – bass
  • George Donoso III – drums
  • Jean-Paul Perron – drums
  • Heather Schnarr – violin 
  • Sophie Trudeau – violin
  • Chris Seligman – French horn
  • Billy Boufford – flute, soprano saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Olga Goreas, Jace Lasek and Nicole Lizee.

  1. Disaster
  2. For Agent 13
  3. And You Lied to Me
  4. Devastation
  5. Because Tonight
  6. Rides the Rails
  7. On Bedford and Grand
  8. Cedric’s War

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.