In February 1959.

In February 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Introducing the 3 Sounds”, the debut The Three Sounds studio album. It was recorded in September 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Gene Harris – piano, celeste 
  • Andrew Simpkins – bass 
  • Bill Dowdy – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Gene Harris except as indicated

  1. Tenderly – Walter Gross, Jack Lawrence
  2. Willow Weep for Me – Ann Ronell
  3. Both Sides
  4. Blue Bells
  5. It’s Nice
  6. Goin’ Home – traditional
  7. Woody ‘n’ You – Dizzy Gillespie
  8. ‘O Sole Mio – Giovanni Capurro, Eduardo di Capua

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.