On January 30, 2001.

On January 30, 2001, “Cooking Vinyl” and “What Are Records?” label released “Dog in the Sand”, the third Frank Black studio album. It was recorded March – April 2000, at “Sound City Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Nick Vincent.


  • Frank Black – vocals, acoustic guitar, guitar
  • Eric Drew Feldman – vocals, electric piano, piano, clavioline
  • Rich Gilbert – vocals, guitar, pedal steel guitar, dobro
  • David McCaffery – vocals, bass
  • Scott Boutier – drums
  • Dave Phillips – vocals, acoustic guitar, guitar, pedal steel guitar, slide guitar 
  • Joey Santiago – guitar
  • Moris Tepper – vocals, banjo, bihuela
  • Nick Vincent – percussion
  • Billy Joe Bowers – recording engineer
  • Mike Terry – assistant engineer
  • Eddy Schreyer – mastering
  • Andrew Swainson – cover design
  • Steve Gullick – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Black.

  1. Blast Off
  2. I’ve Seen Your Picture
  3. St. Francis Dam Disaster
  4. Robert Onion
  5. Stupid Me
  6. Bullet
  7. The Swimmer
  8. Hermaphroditos
  9. I’ll Be Blue
  10. Llano del Rio
  11. If It Takes All Night
  12. Dog in the Sand

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.