on january 22, 1977.

On January 22, 1977, “Warner Bros” label released “Sleeping Gypsy”, the third Michael Franks album.  It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Tommy LiPuma.


  • Michael Franks – vocals
  • Joe Sample – keyboards, piano
  • João Donato – piano
  • Larry Carlton – guitar
  • Hélio Delmiro – guitar
  • Wilton Felder – bass, saxophone
  • David Sanborn – saxophone
  • Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone
  • Larry Bunker – vibraphone, drums, percussion
  • Ray Armando – congas, percussion
  • João Palma – drums
  • John Guerin – percussion
  • Claus Ogerman – orchestra arrangements, conductor
  • Al Schmitt – recording, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Franks, except where noted.

  1. The Lady Wants to Know
  2. I Really Hope It’s You
  3. In The Eye Of The Storm
  4. B’wana-He No Home
  5. Don’t Be Blue – Michael Franks, John Guerin
  6. Antonio’s Song (The Rainbow)
  7. Chain Reaction – Michael Franks, Joe Sample
  8. Down In Brazil

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.