On january 6, 1969.

On January 6, 1969, “Columbia” label released “The Holy Land” the 20th Johnny Cash album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Bob Johnston.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Carl Perkins, Luther Perkins – electric guitar
  • The Carter Family, Jan Howard, The Statler Brothers – backing vocals
  • Marshall Grant – bass guitar
  • W.S. Holland – drums
  • Charlie Bragg – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Johnny Cash, except where noted.

  1. Prologue (narrative)
  2. Land of Israel
  3. Mother’s Love (narrative)
  4. This is Nazareth (narrative)
  5. Nazarene
  6. Town of Cana (narrative)
  7. He Turned Water into Wine
  8. My Wife June at the Sea of Galilee (narrative by June Carter Cash)
  9. Beautiful Words (narrative with sung interjection by Johnny Cash)
  10. Our Guide to Jacob at Mount Tabor (narrative interview)
  11. The Ten Commandments – Lew DeWitt
  12. Daddy Sang Bass – Carl Perkins
  13. At the Wailing Wall (narrative)
  14. Come to the Wailing Wall
  15. In Bethlehem (narrative)
  16. In Garden of Gethsemane (narrative)
  17. The Fourth Man – Arthur “Guitar Boogie” Smith
  18. On the Via Delorosa (narrative)
  19. Church of the Holy Sepulchre (narrative)
  20. At Calvary (narrative)
  21. God is Not Dead

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.