In January 1959.

In January 1959, “Bethlehem” label released “Art Blakey Big Band”, the third Art Blakey album. It was recorded in December 1957, in New York City, and was produced by Lee Kraft.


  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Ray Copeland, Bill Hardman, Idrees Sulieman, Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Melba Liston – trombone
  • Bill Graham, Sahib Shihab – alto saxophone
  • Al Cohn, John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Bill Slapin – baritone saxophone
  • Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
  • Wendell Marshall – bass

Track listing:

  1. Midriff – Gerald Valentine
  2. Ain’t Life Grand – Al Cohn
  3. Tippin’ – Donald Byrd
  4. Pristine – John Coltrane
  5. El Toro Valiente – Charles Gambel, Chiefy Salaam
  6. The Kiss of No Return – Charles Gambel, Chiefy Salaam
  7. Late Date – Melba Liston
  8. The Outer World – Al Cohn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.