In December 1955.

In December 1955, “Signal” label released “Duke Jordan Trio and Quintet”, the third Duke Jordan album. It was recorded in October – November 1955, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Don Schlitten.


  • Duke Jordan – piano
  • Eddie Bert – trombone 
  • Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone
  • Percy Heath – bass
  • Art Blakey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Duke Jordan except where noted.

  1. Forecast
  2. Sultry Eve
  3. They Can’t Take That Away from Me – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  4. A Night in Tunisia – Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli
  5. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  6. Flight to Jordan
  7. Two Lovers
  8. Cu-Ba – Cecil Payne
  9. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  10. Scotch Blues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.