In December 1972.

In December 1972, “Kudu” label released “The Prophet”, the 28th Johnny Hammond album. It was recorded in November 1972, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  • Johnny Hammond Smith – organ
  • John Eckert, Jon Faddis, Marvin Stamm – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Wayne Andre, Dick Griffin – trombone
  • Tony Studd – bass trombone
  • Jerry Dodgion, Maceo Parker – tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams, Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone
  • Eric Gale – guitar
  • Ron Carter – bass
  • Billy Cobham – drums
  • Airto Moreira – percussion
  • Andrew Primus – steel drum
  • Pee Wee Ellis – arranger, conductor, electric piano, melodica
  • Carl Carldwell, Lani Groves, Tasha Thomas – vocals 
  • Buddy Lucas – harmonica 
  • Hubert Laws – flute
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Johnny “Hammond” Smith except where noted

  1. Prophet – Alfred Ellis
  2. Tomorrow Belongs to the Children – Bob Gundry
  3. Witchy Woman – Bernie Leadon, Don Henley
  4. Thunder and Lightning – Chi Coltrane
  5. Stand Behind Me – Carole King
  6. Corner of the Sky – Stephen Schwartz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.