Ornette Coleman: The Art of the Improvisers

On November 2, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “The Art of the Improvisers”, the ninth Ornette Coleman album. It was recorded May – October 1959, July 1960, January – March 1961, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • Ornette Coleman — alto and tenor saxophone
  • Don Cherry — pocket trumpet; cornet
  • Charlie Haden — bass
  • Scott LaFaro — bass
  • Jimmy Garrison — bass
  • Billy Higgins — drums
  • Ed Blackwell — drums 

All tracks by Ornette Coleman.

  1. The Circle with a Hole in the Middle
  2. Just for You
  3. The Fifth of Beethoven
  4. The Alchemy of Scott LaFaro
  5. Moon Inhabitants
  6. The Legends of Bebop
  7. Harlem’s Manhattan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.