In October 1961.

In October 1961, “Jazzland” label released “Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane”, album by Thelonious Monk. It was recorded April – July 1957, at “Reeves Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Thelonious Monk – piano
  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Ray Copeland – trumpet 
  • Gigi Gryce – alto saxophone 
  • Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
  • Wilbur Ware – bass
  • Shadow Wilson – drums 
  • Art Blakey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Thelonious Monk except where noted..

  1. Ruby, My Dear
  2. Trinkle, Tinkle
  3. Off Minor (take 4)
  4. Nutty
  5. Epistrophy – Kenny Clarke, Thelonious Monk
  6. Functional (take 1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.