in October 1957.

In October 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Bass on Top”, the fourth Paul Chambers album. It was recorded in July 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Hank Jones – piano
  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • Art Taylor – drums

Track listing:

  1. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  2. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To – Cole Porter
  3. Chasin’ the Bird – Charlie Parker
  4. Dear Old Stockholm – traditional
  5. The Theme – Miles Davis
  6. Confessin’ – Doc Daugherty, Ellis Reynolds, Al J. Neiburg
  7. Chamber Mates – Kenny Burrell, Paul Chambers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.