On August 11, 1998.

On August 11, 1998, “Blue Note” label released “Combustication”, the fifth Medeski Martin & Wood studio album. It was recorded in 1998, at “The Magic Shop” in New York City, and was produced by John Medeski, Billy Martin, Chris Wood, David Baker, and Scott Harding.


  • John Medeski– keyboards
  • Billy Martin– drums, percussion
  • Chris Wood– basses, bass drum
  • DJ Logic– turntables
  • Steve Cannon – spoken word
  • Juan Garcia – engineer
  • Danny Madorksy – engineer
  • Katsuhiko Naito – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Jimmy Katz – band photography
  • Bleu Valdimer, Project Dragon – design

Track listing:

All music by John Medeski, Billy Martin and Chris Wood except where noted.

  1. Sugar Craft
  2. Just Like I Pictured It
  3. Start·Stop
  4. Nocturne
  5. Hey-Hee-Hi-Ho
  6. Whatever Happened to Gus – John Medeski, Billy Martin, Chris Wood, Steve Cannon
  7. Latin Shuffle
  8. Everyday People – Stewart
  9. Coconut Boogaloo
  10. Church of Logic – John Medeski, Billy Martin, Chris Wood, Kibler
  11. No Ke Ano Ahiahi – traditional
  12. Hypnotized
  • Includes a hidden song, “Combustication” which begins after two minutes of silence

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.