In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Atlantic” label released “Natural Black Inventions: Root Strata”, the 19th Rahsaan Roland Kirk album. It was recorded January – February 1971, at “Regent Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Joel Dorn.


  • Roland Kirk – tenor saxophone,  manzello,  stritch,  clarinet, flute, black mystery pipes, harmonium, piccolo, bass drum, thundersheet, cymbals, bells, music box, palms, timpani, gong, bird sounds
  • Maurice McKinley – drums, congas
  • Joe Habad Texidor – tambourine, triangle, washboard, thundersheet
  • Sonelius Smith – piano
  • Bob Liftin – engineer
  • Lewis Hahn – engineer, mixing
  • Joel Dorn – liner notes
  • Prince Givens – artwork
  • Loring Eutemey – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Rahsaan Roland Kirk except where noted.

  1. Something for Trane That Trane Could Have Said
  2. Island Cry
  3. Runnin’ from the Trash
  4. Day Dream – Duke Ellington, John Latouche, Billy Strayhorn
  5. The Ragman and the Junkman Ran from the Businessman They Laughed and He Cried
  6. Breath-A-Thon
  7. Rahsaanica
  8. Raped Voices
  9. Haunted Feelings
  10. Prelude Back Home
  11. Dance of the Lobes
  12. Harder and Harder Spiritual
  13. Black Root (Back to the Root)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.