In May 1967.

In May 1967, “Atlantic” label released “Backlash”, the 14th Freddie Hubbard album. It was recorded in October 1966, at “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Arif Mardin.


  • Freddie Hubbard- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • James Spaulding- flute, alto saxophone
  • Albert Dailey- piano
  • Bob Cunningham- bass
  • Otis Ray Appleton– drums
  • Ray Barretto– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Freddie Hubbard except where noted.

  1. Backlash – Donald Pickett
  2. The Return of the Prodigal Son – Harold Ousley
  3. Little Sunflower
  4. On the Que-Tee
  5. Up Jumped Spring
  6. Echoes of Blue – Bob Cunningham

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.