On April 8, 2016.

On April 8, 2016, “Stax” label released “Call It What It Is”, the thirteenth Ben Harper studio album. It was recorded 2015 – 2016, at “The Village” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ben Harper, Ethan Allen, Juan Nelson, Leon Mobley, Oliver Charles, Jason Yates and Michael Ward.


  1. Ben Harper – vocals, guitar, slide guitar
  2. Leon Mobley – percussion, bongos, cabasa, claves, congas, djembe, flexitone, music stand, shekere, tambourine, triangle, viber flab, wind chimes, whirly tube, backing vocals
  3. Michael Ward – guitar, backing vocals
  4. Jason Yates – Hammond B3, piano, Fender Rhodes], Wurlitzers], clavinet, guitar, backing vocals
  5. Juan Nelson – bass, backing vocals
  6. Oliver Charles – drums, Djun Djun percussion, backing vocals
  7. Gabriel Burch, Matt Dyson, Will Wetzel – engineer assistant
  8. Ethan Allen – mixing
  9. Gavin Lurssen – mastering
  10. Tom Dolan – design
  11. Danny Clinch – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ben Harper, except where noted.

  1. When Sex Was Dirty
  2. Deeper and Deeper – Ben Harper, Michel Ward
  3. Call What It Is
  4. How Dark Is Gone – Ben Harper, Jason Yates, Leon Mobley
  5. Shine
  6. All That Has Grown
  7. Pink Balloon – Ben Harper, Jaclyn Harper
  8. Finding Our Way – Ben Harper, Oliver Charles
  9. Bones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.