Hatfield and the North: Same

In February 1974, “Virgin” label released the self-titled, debut Hatfield and the North album. It was recorded October 1973 – January 1974, and was produced by Tom Newman, Phil Miller, Dave Stewart, Richard Sinclair and Pip Pyle.  In the “ Q & Mojo Classic Special Edition Pink Floyd & The Story of Prog Rock”, the album came #34 in its list of “40 Cosmic Rock Albums”.


  • Phil Miller–  acoustic and electric guitars
  • Dave Stewart– Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hammond organ, Hohner Pianet, piano, tone generator, Minimoog
  • Richard Sinclair– vocals, bass guitar
  • Pip Pyle– drums, percussion, sound effects
  • Robert Wyatt– vocals
  • Barbara Gaskin– vocals
  • Amanda Parsons – vocals
  • Ann Rosenthal – vocals
  • Cyrille Ayers – vocals
  • Sam Ellidge – voice
  • Geoff Leigh– tenor saxophone, flute
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor saxophone
  • Jeremy Baines – pixiephone, flute
  • Laurie Lewis – design

Track listing:

  1. The Stubbs Effect – Pip Pyle
  2. Big Jobs (Poo Poo Extract) – Richard Sinclair, Pip Pyle
  3. Going Up To People and Tinkling – Dave Stewart
  4. Calyx – Phil Miller
  5. Son of ‘There’s No Place Like Homerton – Dave Stewart
  6. Aigrette – Phil Miller
  7. Rifferama – Richard Sinclair
  8. Fol de Rol – Richard Sinclair, Robert Wyatt
  9. Shaving Is Boring – Pip Pyle
  10. Licks for the Ladies – Richard Sinclair, Pip Pyle
  11. Bossa Nochance – Richard Sinclair
  12. Big Jobs No. 2 (By Poo and the Wee Wees) – Richard Sinclair, Pip Pyle
  13. Lobster in Cleavage Probe – Dave Stewart
  14. Gigantic Land Crabs in Earth Takeover Bid – Dave Stewart
  15. The Other Stubbs Effect – Pip Pyle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.