On January 24, 1994.

On January 24, 1994, “Sire” label released “Hips and Makers”, the debut Kristin Hersh album. It was recorded April-October 1993, at “Stable Sound” in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and was produced by Lenny Kaye and Kristin Hersh.


  • Kristin Hersh – vocals, guitar
  • Jane Scarpantoni- cello
  • Michael Stipe- additional vocals
  • Phill Brown – engineer
  • Steve Rizzo – assistant engineer
  • Vaughan Oliver– design
  • Shinro Ohtake– artwork
  • Andrew Catlin – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Kristin Hersh, except where noted.

  1. Your Ghost
  2. Beestung
  3. Teeth
  4. Sundrops
  5. Sparky
  6. Houdini Blues – Kristin Hersh, William James Hersh
  7. A Loon
  8. Velvet Days
  9. Close Your Eyes
  10. Me and My Charm
  11. Tuesday Night
  12. The Letter
  13. Lurch
  14. The Cuckoo – traditional, arranged by Kristin Hersh
  15. Hips and Makers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.