Art Ensemble of Chicago: Nice Guys

On January 1, 1979, “ECM” label released “Nice Guys”, the 25th Art Ensemble of Chicago album. It was recorded in May 1978, at “Tonstudio Bauer” in Ludwigsburg, Germany, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Roscoe Mitchell: saxophones, clarinets, flute, percussion instruments
  • Lester Bowie: trumpet, celeste, bass drum
  • Malachi Favors Maghostut: bass, percussion instruments, melodica
  • Joseph Jarman: vocal, saxophones, clarinets, percussion instruments
  • Don Moye: vocal, drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Ja – Lester Bowie
  2. Nice Guys – Roscoe Mitchell
  3. Folkus – Don Moye
  4. 597–59 – Joseph Jarman
  5. CYP – Roscoe Mitchell
  6. Dreaming of the Master – Joseph Jarman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.