On November 20, 1967.

On November 20, 1967, “Blue Note” label released “A New Conception”, the third Sam Rivers studio album. It was recorded on October 11, 1966, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Sam Rivers – soprano and tenor saxophone, flute
  • Hal Galper– piano
  • Herbie Lewis– bass
  • Steve Ellington– drums

Track listing:

  1. When I Fall in Love – Heyman, Young
  2. I’ll Never Smile Again – Lowe
  3. Detour Ahead – Lou Carter, Ellis, John Freigo
  4. That’s All – Alan Brandt, Haymes
  5. What a Diff’rence a Day Made – Adams, Grever
  6. Temptation – Brown, Freed
  7. Secret Love – Fain, Webster

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.