On July 23, 1991.

On July 23, 1991, “Polygram do Brazil Ltda” label released “João”, the 30th João Gilberto album. It was recorded in 1991, and was produced by Mayrton Bahia.


  • Joao Gilberto – voice, guitar
  • Clare Fischer– keyboards, string arrangements
  • Jim Hughart– acoustic bass
  • Joe Correro – drums
  • Michito Sanchez – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Eu Sambo Mesmo (I Really Samba) – Janet Almeida
  2. Siga (Go On) – Fernando Lobo, Helio Guimarães
  3. Rosinha – (Little Rose) – Jonas Silva
  4. Málaga – Fred Bongusto
  5. Una Mujer (A Woman) – Paul Misraki, S. Pontal Riso, C. Olivare
  6. Eu e Meu Coração (My Heart and I) – Inaldo Vilarinho, Antonio Botelho
  7. You Do Something to Me – Cole Porter
  8. Palpite Infeliz (Unhappy Remark) – Noel Rosa
  9. Ave Maria no Morro (Ave Maria on the Hill) – Herivelto Martins
  10. Sampa – Caetano Veloso
  11. Sorriu pra Mim (Smiled at Me) – Garoto, Luiz Claudio
  12. Que Reste-t-il de Nos Amours (I Wish You Love) – Charles Trenet, Leon Chauliac

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.