On June 15, 2004.

On June 15, 2004, “Elektra” label released “Undermind”, the tenth Phish studio album. It was recorded May 2002 at “The Barn” in Vermont, April 2003 at “Nantucket” in Massachusetts, June 2003 at “Big Moe Recording” in Chicago, Illinois, February 2004 at “The Barn” in Vermont, March 2004 at “Cactus Unlimited” in New York, and was produced by Tchad Blake.


  • Trey Anastasio– vocals, guitars, engineer
  • Page McConnell– vocals, keyboards
  • Mike Gordon– vocals, bass guitar
  • Jon Fishman– vocals, drums
  • “Secret Smile” strings:
  • Katherine Winterstein, Laura Markowitz, Signy Glendinning, Sofia Hirsch, Ann Cooper, Kathy Andrew – violin
  • Roy Feldman, Pam Reit, Hilary Hatch – viola
  • John Dunlop, Dieuwke Davydov; arrangement: Maria Schneider – cello
  • Maria Schneider – arranger
  • Tchad Blake – engineer, mixing, photography
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Jared Slomoff, Bill Plummer, Bryce Goggin – engineer
  • Chris Weal, Peter J. Carini – assistant engineer
  • Claire Lewis – mixing assistant
  • Brian Brown, Kevin Brown, Kevin Shapiro, Pam Reit, Kevin Monty, Rob O’Dea, Paul Languedoc – production assistant, technical assistance
  • JDK – design
  • Danny Clinch – photography

Track listing:

  1. Scents and Subtle Sounds (Intro) – Trey Anastasio, Herman, Tom Marshall
  2. Undermind – Trey Anastasio, Herman, Tom Marshall
  3. The Connection – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  4. A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  5. Army of One – Page McConnell
  6. Crowd Control – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  7. Maggie’s Revenge – Trey Anastasio, Jon Fishman, Mike Gordon, Page McConnell
  8. Nothing – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  9. Two versions of Me – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  10. Access Me – Mike Gordon
  11. Scents and Subtle Sounds – Trey Anastasio, Herman, Tom Marshall
  12. Tomorrow’s Song – Jon Fishman
  13. Secret Smile – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall
  14. Grind – Trey Anastasio, Tom Marshall



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.