On May 21, 2001.

On May 21, 2001, “Green Linnet Records” label released “The Merry Sisters of Fate”, the third Lúnasa studio album. It was recorded in 2001, at “Marguerite Studios” in Dublin, and was produced by Seán Smyth, Kevin Crawford, Trevor Hutchinson, Cillian Vallely and Donogh Hennessy.


  • Seán Smyth– fiddle, low whislte
  • Kevin Crawford– flute, low whistle, F low whistle, whistle
  • Trevor Hutchinson– bass, double bass
  • Cillian Vallely– uilleann pipes, low whistle, F low whistle
  • Donogh Hennessy – acoustic and electric guitar, nylon strings guitar, steel string guitar, low whistle, whistle
  • Kieran Wilde – clarinet
  • David Odlum – guitars
  • Patz Fitzpatrick – piano, clarinet arrangement, harmonium
  • Ed Dean – lap steel guitar
  • Dave Hingerty – percussion
  • Miriam Ingram – clarinet arrangement
  • David Odlum, Ed Kenehan – recording, mixing
  • Naoimh Ingram – cover, design
  • Giorgia Bertazzi – photography

Track listing:

  1. Aoibhneas (Aoibhneas Eilis Ni Cheallaigh, Jimmy Ward’s, Not Safe With A Razor)
  2. Donogh and Mike’s (1 August, Windbr)
  3. Killarney Boys of Pleasure
  4. The Merry Sisters of Fate (The Merry Sisters Of Fate, The Longacre)
  5. Iníon Ni Scannláin
  6. Casu (Asturian Air, Aires De Pontevedra, Muineira De Casu)
  7. Páistin Fionn
  8. The Minor Bee (Minor Slip, Ronde De Loudeac, The Red Bee)
  9. Scully’s (Scully Casey’s, The Dusty Miller)
  10. Return from Fingal
  11. Morning Nightcap (The Wedding, Morning Nightcap, The Malbay Shuffle)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.