On April 26, 2005.

On April 26, 2005, “4AD” label released “The Sunset Tree”, the ninth Mountain Goats studio album. It was recorded in November 2004, at “Prairie Sun Recording Studios” in Cotati, California, and was produced by John Vanderslice.


  • John Darnielle– vocals, guitar
  • Franklin Bruno– piano
  • Peter Hughes– backing vocals, bass
  • Alex Decarville – drums
  • Erik Friedlander– cello
  • Scott Solter, Aaron Prellwitz, Timin Murray – engineer


All tracks by John Darnielle.

  1. You of Your Memory
  2. Broom People
  3. This Year
  4. Dilaudid
  5. Dance Music
  6. Dinu Lipatti’s Bones
  7. Up the Wolves
  8. Lion’s Teeth
  9. Hast Thou Considered the Tetrapod
  10. Magpie
  11. Song for Dennis Brown
  12. Love Love Love
  13. Pale Green Things

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.