Civil Wars: Barton Hollow

On February 1, 2011, “Sensibility” label released “Barton Hollow”, the debut Civil Wars album. It was recorded in 2010, at “The Art House” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Charlie Peacock.


  • Joy Williams – lead and backing vocals, piano, Hohner organ, bells
  • John Paul White – lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, resonator guitar, banjo, bass guitar
  • Andy Leftwich – fiddle, mandolin
  • Jerry McPherson, T. Corenflos – electric guitar
  • Dan Dugmore – pedal steel guitar
  • Tim Lauer – keyboards, synthesizer, keyboard bass, organ
  • Charlie Peacock – electric piano, trumpet, additional engineering
  • Barry Bales – double bass
  • Ken Lewis – percussion
  • David Davidson – violin
  • John Catchings – cello
  • Richie Biggs – engineer, mixing
  • Richard Dodd – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Joy Williams and John Paul White, except where noted.

  1. 20 Years
  2. I’ve Got This Friend
  3. C’est la mort
  4. To Whom It May Concern
  5. Poison & Wine – Joy Williams, John Paul White, Chris Lindsey
  6. My Father’s Father
  7. Barton Hollow
  8. The Violet Hour
  9. Girl With the Red Balloon
  10. Falling
  11. Forget Me Not
  12. Birds of a Feather

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.