Sparks: Big Beat

In October 1976, “Columbia” label released “Big Beat”, the sixth Sparks album. It was recorded in August 1976, at “Mediasound” in New York City, and was produced by Rupert Holmes and Jeffrey Lesser.


  • Russell Mael – vocals
  • Ron Mael – keyboards
  • Jeffrey Salen – guitar
  • Sal Maida – bass
  • Hilly Boy Michaels– drums
  • Godfrey Diamond- engineer, remix
  • Bob Clearmountain, Harvey Goldberg, Michael Barbiero- additional engineering
  • Richard Avedon- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ron Mael.

  1. Big Boy
  2. I Want to Be Like Everybody Else
  3. Nothing to Do
  4. I Bought the Mississippi River
  5. Fill-er-up
  6. Everybody’s Stupid
  7. Throw Her Away (And Get a New One)
  8. Confusion
  9. Screwed Up
  10. White Women
  11. I Like Girls

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.