In October 1971.

In October 1971, “Curtom” label released “Roots”, the second Curtis Mayfield studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “RCA Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Curtis Mayfield.


  • Curtis Mayfield – vocals, guitar
  • Craig McMullen – guitar
  • Joseph “Lucky” Scott – bass
  • Tyrone McCullen – drums
  • Henry Gibson- percussion
  • Leroy Hutson, Michael Hawkins – background vocals
  • Johnny Pate, Riley Hampton – arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Mayfield, except where noted.

  1. Get Down
  2. Keep On Keeping On
  3. Underground
  4. We Got to Have Peace
  5. Beautiful Brother of Mine
  6. Now You’re Gone – Curtis Mayfield, Joseph Scott
  7. Love to Keep You in My Mind

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.