In September 1971.

In September 1971, “Warner Bros” label released “Aereo-Plain”, the eight John Hartford studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by David Bromberg.


  • John Hartford– banjo, guitar, violin, vocals
  • Norman Blake– guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Vassar Clements– violin, cello, viola, vocals
  • Tut Taylor– dobro, vocals
  • Randy Scruggs– electric bass, vocals
  • Warren Dewey, Claude Hill – engineer
  • Toby Mountain – mixing
  • Peter Amft – photography
  • Sam Bush– liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by John Hartford; except where noted.

  1. Turn Your Radio On – Albert E. Brumley
  2. Steamboat Whistle Blues
  3. Back in the Goodle Days
  4. Up on the Hill Where They Do the Boogie
  5. Boogie
  6. First Girl I Loved
  7. Presbyterian Guitar
  8. With a Vamp in the Middle
  9. Symphony Hall Rag
  10. Because of You
  11. Steam Powered Aereo Plane
  12. Holding
  13. Tear Down The Grand Ole Opry – John Hartford, Robert Taylor
  14. Leather Britches – traditional
  15. Station Break
  16. Turn Your Radio On



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.