On August 19, 1975.

On August 19, 1975, “Epic” label released “Phoenix” is the fifth Labelle album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Allen Toussaint.


  • Nona Hendryx, Patti Labelle, Sarah Dash- vocals
  • Edward Batts – electric and acoustic guitar
  • Carmine “Pee Wee” Rojas- bass
  • James Ellison – keyboards
  • Larry Davis – drums
  • Jeffrey Shannon – percussion
  • George Porter, Jr.– bass
  • Herman Ernest III – drums
  • Leo Nocentelli, Steve Hughes, Teddy Royal- guitar
  • Allen Toussaint- Fender Rhodes, arrangements
  • James Booker– organ
  • Carl Blouin – baritone saxophone
  • Jim Moore – tenor & alto saxophone, flute
  • Lon Price – tenor saxophone
  • Lester Caliste – trombone
  • John Longo – trumpet
  • Steve Howard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Vicki Wickham- executive producer
  • Don Puluse, Ken Laxton – engineers
  • Tom Huetis – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Nona Hendryx; except where noted.

  1. Phoenix (The Amazing Flight of a Lone Star)
  2. Slow Burn
  3. Black Holes in the Sky
  4. Good Intentions
  5. Far As We Felt Like Goin’ – Bob Crewe, Kenny Nolan
  6. Messin’ with My Mind
  7. Chances Go Round – Nona Hendryx, Edward Levone Batts, James Budd Ellison
  8. Cosmic Dancer
  9. Take the Night Off
  10. Action Time – Edward Levone Batts, James Ellison; with additional lyrics by Nona Hendryx



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.