In August 1967.

In August 1967, “Mainstream” label released “Big Brother & the Holding Company”, the debut Big Brother and the Holding Company album. It was recorded in December 1966, and was produced by Bob Shad.


  • Janis Joplin- vocals
  • Peter Albin – bass guitar
  • Sam Andrew- guitar, vocals
  • David Getz – drums
  • James Gurley- guitar, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Bye, Bye Baby – Powell St. John
  2. Easy Rider – James Gurley
  3. Intruder – Janis Joplin
  4. Light is Faster Than Sound – Peter Albin
  5. Call On Me – Sam Andrew
  6. Women is Losers – Janis Joplin
  7. Blindman – Peter Albin, Sam Andrew, David Getz, James Gurley, Janis Joplin
  8. Down on Me – traditional, arr, by Janis Joplin
  9. Caterpillar – Peter Albin
  10. All is Loneliness – Moondog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.