On July 5, 1999.

On July 5, 1999, “Hut” label released “How I Learned to Love the Bootboys”, the fourth and final The Auteurs album. It was recorded in 1999, and was produced by Luke Haines, Pete Hofmann and Phil Vinall.


  • Luke Haines– vocal, guitar, keyboards
  • James Banbury – keyboards, programming, strings
  • Alice Readman – bass guitar
  • Barny C. Rockford – drums
  • Chris Wyles – drums
  • Theresa Whipple – viola
  • Abigail Trundle, Bern Davis – cello
  • Sarah Nixey– backing vocals
  • John Moore – backing vocals
  • Pete Hofmann – mixing
  • Rip – portrait photograph

Track listing:

All tracks by Luke Haines, except where noted.

  1. The Rubettes – Luke Haines, John Moore, Bickerton, Waddington
  2. 1967
  3. How I Learned to Love the Bootboys
  4. Your Gang, Our Gang
  5. Some Changes
  6. School
  7. Johnny and the Hurricanes
  8. The South Will Rise Again
  9. Asti Spumante – Luka Haines, S. Medway–Smith
  10. Sick of Hari Krisna
  11. Lights Out
  12. Future Generation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.