On July 2, 1966.

On July 2, 1966, “Motown” label released “On Top”, the third Four Tops studio  album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Brian Holland, Eddie Holland and Lamont Dozier.


  • Renaldo Benson– vocals
  • Abdul Fakir– vocals
  • Lawrence Payton– keyboards, vocals
  • Levi Stubbs– vocals
  • The Andantes- vocals

Track listing:

  1. I Got a Feeling – Holland–Dozier–Holland
  2. Brenda – Edward Holland Jr.
  3. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever – Ivy Jo Hunter, Stevie Wonder
  4. Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over – Holland–Dozier–Holland
  5. Until You Love Someone – Holland–Dozier–Holland
  6. There’s No Love Left – Holland–Dozier–Holland
  7. Matchmaker, Matchmaker – Jerry Bock, Sheldon Harnick
  8. Michelle – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  9. In the Still of the Night – Cole Porter
  10. Bluesette – Norman Gimbel, Toots Thielemans
  11. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Gene Lees
  12. Then – Warren “Pete” Moore, Smokey Robinson, Bobby Rogers



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.