In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Warner Bros” label released “In the Pocket”, the seventh James Taylor studio album. It was recorded 1975 – 1976, at “Warner Bros. Recording Studios” in Hollywood, “The Burbank Studios” in Burbank, and was produced by Russ Titelman and Lenny Waronker.


  • James Taylor – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Stevie Wonder- vocals, harmonica
  • David Crosby- vocals
  • Art Garfunkel- vocals
  • Graham Nash- vocals
  • Bonnie Raitt- vocals
  • Carter Robertson – vocals
  • Linda Ronstadt- vocals
  • Carly Simon – vocals
  • Alex Taylor – vocals
  • Waddy Wachtel – electric guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Danny Kortchmar – electric guitar, mandolin
  • Herb Pedersen – vocals, banjo
  • David Grisman- mandolin, mandocello
  • David Lindley- dobro
  • Malcolm Cecil- Moog synthesizer
  • Clarence McDonald- Hammond organ, piano, Moog synthesizer, Fender Rhodes electric piano, horn organ
  • Nick DeCaro – voice, organ, horn organ,  accordion, ARP String Ensemble synthesizer, string and horn arrangements,
  • Craig Doerge- keyboards
  • Red Callender- double bass, tuba
  • Lee Sklar- bass
  • Willie Weeks- bass
  • Jim Keltner- drums
  • Russ Kunkel- drums, percussion
  • Victor Feldman- percussion, marimba, bass marimba, vibraphone, orchestra bells
  • Bobbye Hall- bongos, shaker, triangle
  • Milt Holland- chimes, wind chimes
  • Kenny Watson – cimbalom
  • Ernie Watts- saxophone
  • Michael Brecker- saxophone
  • George Bohanon- trombone
  • Oscar Brashear- trumpet
  • Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Gayle Levant – harp

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor except where noted.

  1. Shower the People
  2. A Junkie’s Lament
  3. Money Machine
  4. Slow Burning Love
  5. Everybody Has the Blues
  6. Daddy’s All Gone
  7. Woman’s Gotta Have It – Bobby Womack, Darryl Carter, Linda Cooke Womack
  8. Captain Jim’s Drunken Dream
  9. Don’t Be Sad ‘Cause Your Sun Is Down – James Taylor, Stevie Wonder
  10. Nothing Like a Hundred Miles
  11. Family Man
  12. Golden Moments


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.