In June 1971.

In June 1971, “RCA Victor” label released “First Pull Up, Then Pull Down”, the second Hot Tuna album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Chateau Liberte” in Los Gatos, California, and was produced by Jorma Kaukonen.


  • Jack Casady– bass
  • Jorma Kaukonen– vocals, guitar
  • Papa John Creach– electric violin
  • Sammy Piazza – drums
  • Will Scarlett – harmonica
  • Pat “Maurice” Ieraci – master of the machines
  • Allen Zentz – engineer
  • Margareta Kaukonen – drawings
  • Mike Frankel – interior photograph
  • Jack Casady – pin-up photo

Track listing:

  1. John’s Other – Papa John Creach
  2. Candy Man – rev. Gary Davis
  3. Been So Long – Jorma Kaukonen
  4. Want You to Know – Bo Carter
  5. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning – rev. Gary Davis
  6. Never Happen No More – Blind Blake
  7. Come Back Baby – traditional, arr. by Jorma Kaukonen



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.