In June 1970.

In June 1970, “RCA” label released “Hark! The Village Wait”, the debut Steely Span album. It was recorded in March 1970, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Sandy Roberton, Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Ashley Hutchings, Terry Woods and Gay Woods.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals, 5-string banjo
  • Tim Hart- vocals, electric guitar, electric dulcimer, fiddle, 5-string banjo, harmonium
  • Ashley Hutchings- bass
  • Terry Woods- vocals, electric guitar, concertina, mandola, 5-string banjo, mandolin
  • Gay Woods- vocals, concertina, autoharp, bodhran
  • Gerry Conway- drums
  • Dave Mattacks- drums

Track listing:

  1. A Calling-on Song – Ashley Hutchings
  2. The Blacksmith – traditional
  3. Fisherman’s Wife – MacColl
  4. Blackleg Miner -traditional
  5. Dark-Eyed Sailor –traditional
  6. Copshawholme Fair – traditional
  7. All Things Are Quite Silent – traditional
  8. The Hills of Greenmore – traditional
  9. Lowlands of Holland – traditional
  10. Twa Corbies – traditional
  11. One Night as I Lay on My Bed –traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.