John Scofield: That’s What I Say: John Scofield Plays the Music of Ray Charles

On June 7, 2005, “Verve” label released “That’s What I Say: John Scofield Plays the Music of Ray Charles”, the 35th John Scofield album. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Steve Jordan.


  • John Scofield – guitar, finger snapping
  • Warren Haynes – vocals, slide guitar
  • John Mayer – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Mavis Staples- vocals
  • Dr. John – vocals, piano
  • Aaron Neville- vocals
  • Larry Goldings- Hammond organ, vibes, Wurlitzer
  • Willie Weeks- bass
  • Manolo Badrena – Spanish vocals, percussion, tambourine, timbales
  • Steven “Steven J.” Jordan – drums, tambourine, backing vocals, hand clapping, finger snapping
  • David Newman – tenor saxophone
  • Alex Foster – tenor saxophone
  • Earl Gardner- trumpet
  • Keith O’Quinn – trombone
  • Howard Johnson- baritone saxophone
  • Vaneese Thomas- backing vocals, hand clapping
  • Lisa Fischer- backing vocals, hand clapping
  • Meegan Voss- backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Busted
  2. What’d I Say
  3. Sticks And Stones
  4. I Don’t Need No Doctor
  5. Cryin’ Time
  6. I Can’t Stop Loving You
  7. Hit The Road Jack
  8. Talkin’ ‘Bout You/I Got A Woman
  9. Unchain My Heart (Part 1)
  10. Let’s Go Get Stoned
  11. Night Time Is the Right Time
  12. You Don’t Know Me
  13. Georgia On My Mind

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.