In May 1985.

In May 1985, “A&M” label released the debut, self-titled Suzanne Vega album. It was recorded January-March 1985, at “Celestial Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Steve Addabbo, Lenny Kaye and Steven Miller. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Suzanne Vega” at number 80 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the Eighties”.


  • Suzanne Vega– vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Steve Addabbo — synclavier guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Jon Gordon– electric guitar
  • Frank Christian– acoustic guitar, electric slide guitar
  • Mark Isham– synthesizers
  • P. Roth – synthesizers, piano, organ
  • Frank Gravis – bass
  • Paul Dugan – bass, vertical bass
  • Sue Evans– drums, percussion
  • Roger Squitero – percussion
  • Peter Gordon– string arrangement
  • Shem Guibbory – violin
  • Darol Anger– electric violin
  • Maxine Neuman – cello
  • John Mahoney – synclavier programming

Track listing:

All tracks by Suzanne Vega.

  1. Cracking
  2. Freeze Tag
  3. Marlene on the Wall
  4. Small Blue Thing
  5. Straight Lines
  6. Undertow
  7. Some Journey
  8. The Queen and the Soldier
  9. Knight Moves
  10. Neighborhood Girls

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.