In May 1969.

In May 1969, “Capitol” label released “California Bloodlines”, the second John Stewart studio album.  It was recorded in 1969, in Nashville, and was produced by Nik Venet. “Rolling Stone” magazine named “California Bloodlines” as of one of the 200 best albums of all time.


  • John Stewart– guitar
  • Kenneth A. Buttrey– drums
  • Fred Carter, Jr.– guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • Charlie McCoy– harmonica
  • Lloyd Green– pedal steel
  • Hargus “Pig” Robbins– piano
  • Rick Rankin – cover photo
  • Henry Diltz– liner photo

Track listing:

All tracks by John Stewart.

  1. California Bloodlines
  2. Razor-Back Woman
  3. She Believes in Me
  4. Omaha Rainbow
  5. The Pirates of Stone County Road
  6. Shackles and Chains
  7. Mother Country
  8. Some Lonesome Picker
  9. You Can’t Look Back
  10. Missouri Birds
  11. July, You’re a Woman
  12. Never Goin’ Back

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.