On April 23, 2002.

On April 23, 2002, “Island” label released “When I Was Cruel”, the 19th Elvis Costello album. It was recorded 2001-2002, and was produced by Elvis Costello, Ciaran Cahill, Leo Pearson and Kieran Lynch. “When I Was Cruel” was the first album to feature Costello’s new band, The Imposters.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitars, horn arrangements, melodica,  cymbal,  bass, piano, harmonica
  • Steve Nieve– organ, pianet, piano, vibraphone, melodica, filters
  • Davey Faragher– bass, handclaps
  • Pete Thomas– drums, handclaps, percussion, shaker, tambourine
  • Steven Kennedy –backing vocals
  • Leo Pearson – electrictabla on 3, rhythm processor, tambourine, mixing
  • Bill Ware– vibraphone
  • Ku-umba Frank Lacy– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Curtis Fowlkes– trombone
  • Jay Rodriguez– tenor saxophone
  • Roy Nathanson– alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello.

  1. 45
  2. Spooky Girlfriend
  3. Tear Off Your Own Head (It’s a Doll Revolution)
  4. When I Was Cruel No. 2
  5. Soul for Hire
  6. 15 Petals
  7. Tart
  8. Dust 2…
  9. Dissolve
  10. Alibi
  11. …Dust
  12. Daddy Can I Turn This?
  13. My Little Blue Window
  14. Episode of Blonde
  15. Radio Silence



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.