In April 1977.

In April 1977, “Warner Bros” label released “A Period of Transition”, the ninth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, and was produced by Van Morrison and Dr.John. The album cover photographs were by Ken Mcgowan.


  • Van Morrison –acoustic and electric guitars, vocals, harmonica
  • Ollie E. Brown– drums, percussion
  • Marlo Henderson– guitar
  • Jerry Jumonville –tenor and alto saxophones
  • Reggie McBride– bass
  • Joel Peskin –baritone saxophone
  • Mac Rebennack (Dr. John)– piano, electric piano, guitar
  • Mark Underwood –trumpet
  • Robbie Montgomery, Roger Kennerly-Saint, Gregory Wright, Carlena Williams, Paulette Parker, Candy Nash, Toni McVey, Gary Garrett and Joe Powell –backing vocals
  • Engineer: Gary Ladinsky
  • Assistant Engineers: Mike Beiriger, Richard Kaplan, Bart Johnson, Mick Glossop
  • Art Direction/Design: Mike Doud-AGI Hollywood
  • Cover Concept: Van Morrison

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison except where noted.

  1. You Gotta Make It Through the World
  2. It Fills You Up
  3. The Eternal Kansas City
  4. Joyous Sound
  5. Flamingos Fly
  6. Heavy Connection
  7. Cold Wind in August




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.