In April 1972.

In April 1972, “Island” label released “Henry the Human Fly”, the first Richard Thompson solo album. It was recorded in February 1972, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Richard Thompson and John Wood.


  • Richard Thompson– guitar, vocals, accordion, tin whistle, mandolin
  • Timi Donald – drums, vocals
  • Pat Donaldson– bass guitar, vocals
  • David Snell – harp
  • Jeff Cole – trombone
  • John Defereri – tenor saxophone
  • Clay Toyani – trumpet
  • Sue Draheim– fiddle
  • Barry Dransfield– fiddle
  • John Kirkpatrick– accordion
  • Andy Roberts– dulcimer
  • Sandy Denny– piano, vocals
  • Linda Peters– vocals
  • Ashley Hutchings– vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson.

  1. Roll Over Vaughn Williams
  2. Nobody’s Wedding
  3. The Poor Ditching Boy
  4. Shaky Nancy
  5. The Angels Took My Racehorse Away
  6. Wheely Down
  7. The New St. George
  8. Painted Ladies
  9. Cold Feet
  10. Mary and Joseph
  11. The Old Changing Way
  12. Twisted


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.