In April 1970.

In April 1970, “King” label released “Soul on Top”, the 32nd James Brown studio album. It was recorded November 1969, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown- vocal
  • Oliver Nelson- arranger and conductor
  • Ernie Watts- alto saxophone
  • Joe Romano – alto saxophone
  • Maceo Parker- tenor saxophone
  • Buddy Collette- tenor saxophone
  • Pete Christlieb- tenor saxophone
  • Jim Mulidore – baritone saxophone
  • Al Aarons- trumpet
  • Chuck Findley- trumpet
  • John Audino – trumpet
  • Tom Porello – trumpet
  • Jimmy Cleveland- trombone
  • Nick DiMaio – trombone
  • Kenny Shroyer – trombone
  • Bill Tole – trombone
  • Frank Vincent – piano
  • Bill Pitman- guitar
  • Louis Shelton- guitar
  • Ray Brown- bass
  • Louis Bellson- drums, bandleader
  • Jack Arnold – percussion

Track listing:

  1. That’s My Desire – Helmy Kressa, Caroll Loveday
  2. Your Cheatin’ Heart – Hank Williams
  3. What Kind of Fool Am I – Leslie Bircusse, Anthony Newley
  4. It’s a Man’s, Man’s, Man’s World – James Brown, Betty Jean Newsome
  5. The Man in the Glass – Bud Hobgood
  6. It’s magic – Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne
  7. September Song – Maxwell Anderson, Kurt Weill
  8. For Once in My Life – Ron Miller, Orlando Murden
  9. Every Day I Have the Blues – Memphis Slim
  10. I Need Your Key (To Turn Me On) – Louie Bellson
  11. Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag – James Brown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.